The Spiritual GPS


Having just returned from two trips in the last week, I must say, I love GPS technology. As a Imagecountry boy, I am not only  fascinated by the maps that constantly change as you drive forward, but the Betsy TomTom voice who tells you, “At 800 yards turn left and stay in the right lane,” and other valuable advice.

I believe, however, it would be a great advancement to have a button on the bottom left hand corner of the devise that tells the gadget that you are taking a detour, break or respite. For all the gizmo can do, it seems like a simple concept to put the directions on hold until you push the button again. It would save me the embarrassment of arguing with a chunk of electronics about a bathroom stop.

The concept of a voice and directions in the vehicle which knows the right directions and communicates them as needed is not new to mankind. “Nevertheless I tell you the truth; It is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you. And when he is come, he will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment…” John 16:7-8.

When we are saved, we receive the very Spirit of God. Through God’s Spirit, His very voice directs us in what to do, where to go, what to say, and what to believe.

It occurred to me that many times I try to push the “pause” button; to ignore His voice to take a detour, as if I know better than God. I argue with Him, trying to convince Him, and myself, that my selection, turn and choice is better, at least for the moment.

My prayer is that I will always listen to the spiritual GPS God has placed inside me.

Leave a Reply

