Why Universalism Flies in the Face of Love


ImageThere was a breach in our relationship. My friend and I were not speaking. Pride, wounds, unkind words and plenty of negative emotions separated us and stole our fellowship.

 I swallowed my pride, owned my responsibility, confessed my selfishness and anger to God and determined that I was going to try to restore the relationship. I took hat in hand, took a caring brother with me, and approached my wounded friend.

I took 100% of the responsibility for the conflict, expressed my sorrow in what I did, tried to express how I understood my friend’s pain and ask my friend if he could forgive me. His words stung me and still hurt today….

 “Oh, I forgive you, but I will not be your friend anymore.”

 Needless to say, I attempted to offer reconciliation by attempting to pay the price for it, but it was not accepted.

 When we were alienated from God, God sent His only Son to forgive us and restore our relationship with Him. He paid the full price for reconciliation and simply offered it to us.

 Universalism teaches that since Jesus died for the sins of the whole world, every sin is forgiven and everyone will ultimately end up in heaven. This is the message of the book “Love Wins” by Rob Bell. The weakness in this theology is that love must be accepted. The gift must be received. If not, it is not love.

 It is my hope that my friend will eventually receive my love so the relationship can be restored. It is also my mission to help everyone see their need to receive Jesus’ gift of love and be reconciled to God.

 1 Corinthian 5:20 – “Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.”

Leave a Reply

