The Weakness of the Teacher


Image

I sensed the call of God to just sit with Him a while and visit. How often have I sensed that? I know I need God’s fellowship every day.

So I paused in my day, got out His love letter to me, told Him of my admiration for Him and quieted myself to hear what He had to say with me.

Almost immediately, He spoke a deep truth to me from His love letter. I was so excited. Within minutes I was handling the truth, phrasing and rephrasing it, and imagining how I could share it with the people I love, either in a sermon or a lesson. Want to guess what my gifting is?

“Aahmmmm! I’m still here. Let’s just visit for a while.”

“Yes, Lord. Thank you for the truth. I hope I use it responsibly.”

Then He shared another beautiful truth with me. And within minutes, I was again preaching and teaching that truth in my mind.

This sad reality occurred every time God showed me a truth or application of His truth today. Each one was beautiful, and I received each one with joy and thanksgiving. The problem was, each time I received one, I virtually ran out of the room to find someone with whom to share it.

Teaching and preaching are my strengths. Unfortunately, when I depend upon my strengths, I tend to walk away from Him far too often. When I am in an area in which I am uncomfortable, I rest on His unceasing grace.

The last truths He shared with me were these, and I journaled them. “In the few areas of my calling I am strong, yet I find them to be my greatest weaknesses. But praise God, in the many areas I am weak, I find that He is strong.”

“But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:9-10.

Leave a Reply

