HEY! YOU ALREADY HAVE IT!


“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places…” Ephesians 1:3. Every spiritual blessings? Already? Really?

As the people of our congregation know, one of my favorite topics is the discovery and discussion of what Christ did for us at salvation. Too many times I find myself thinking again that my Christian life is dependent upon me; my disciplines, my insights, my study, the passion in my prayers, or one of many other “works of the flesh”.

As a pastor and counselor, I am ever amazed at how many times we forget our position in Christ and over-credit either our problems or our religious activities. After almost 20 years of studying this topic, I am even more amazed at what I haven’t learned and how quickly I forget what I know in times of distress.

Fortunately, God has placed reminders in my life regularly to push me forward. Todays reminder came from Matt Smethurst.

“Your Father’s love for you doesn’t rise and fall with your quiet times. If you are united to Jesus by faith, the verdict is out, and the court is dismissed. You’re as accepted and embraced as the Son himself. Period. To be sure, you’ll desire to hear and follow his voice if you’re truly one of his sheep (John 10:1-30; cf. 8:47; 18:37). Not always and not perfectly, of course, but sincerely and increasingly.” Matt Smethurst, Associate Editor for The Gospel Coalition (thegospelcoalition.org).

It is so much more a joy to live out of my position in Christ than to try to earn it. Praise be to God that “His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence, by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.” 2 Peter 1:3-4.

Image

Leave a Reply

