What Are My Excuses?


I have plenty of dynamite.

“The words of Agur son of Jakeh. The oracle. The man declares, I am weary, O God; I am weary, O God, and worn out. Surely I am too stupid to be a man. I have not the understanding of a man. I have not learned wisdom, nor have I knowledge of the Holy One. Who has ascended to heaven and come down? Who has gathered the wind in his fists? Who has wrapped up the waters in a garment? Who has established all the ends of the earth? What is his name, and what is his son’s name? Surely you know! Every word of God proves true; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.” Proverbs 30:1-5 ESV.

The writer of this passage may have been looking back at an unsatisfying day, and asked, “Why did I do what I did, and why didn’t I do the right things?”

Excuse 1: “I was tired. Under the situation, anybody could have done what I did.” Been there, done that, ruined a hat.

Excuse 2: “I was stupid. It was foolish of me to do that. I knew better.” Been there, too.

Excuse 3: “I didn’t know any better. I didn’t understand and hadn’t learned that was wrong.” This is sounding like my diary.

Yet look at the answer to these excuses. Jesus Christ.

We now know who ascended to heaven and will come again for us. We know who created the winds and can stop them with His voice. We know who separated the land from the waters, destroyed the world with water and called it back to its place. We know the Father and we know His Son. Surely we know!

All that power lives with us if we are saved. We think of that power is given to us for us to do great things. But that power must be used first to raise us above our circumstances (when we are tired), deception (when we are stupid), and ignorance (when we don’t know). But we must depend upon Him.

“Now to him who is able (dunamai, as in dynamite) to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless (excuseless) before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever. Amen.” (Jude 24, ESV, emphasis mine).

http://sermon.net/desdemonatx

Image

Leave a Reply

