Do you hear the sermon of the slime and weeds? (short devotional thought)


On my walk today, I noticed the weeds in the ditch and string algae, green and slimy, growing in the remaining puddles in the bottom. I had to ask, to what end?

There they were, striving for life, straining against competitors, reaching as far as they can to live for a short while. Soon the moisture will be gone and the weeds and algae will be dead, living and dying with no purpose, so it seems.

To what purpose do they grow, straining, reaching, only to be dried and dead in a short while? Contributing nothing, the examples of futility and worthlessness. As I said, so it seems.

It occurred to me that there is only one purpose that these forms of life find a place, wrestle with the elements and then die. They do so at the command of their Creator. He said, “Grow, strive, reach.” They care not for any other purpose, no other goal, no fruitfulness or satisfaction. They heed the Master’s command, and that is enough.

They praise God, not by the fruits they lay on His table or by any beauty that speaks to all about His creativity. They praise God by simple obedience. They worship by honoring God’s command.

In that, ditch weeds and puddle slime are nobler than me. I long to see purpose, results and fruit. I must be validated in my own eyes, and often that validation comes by means of those I seek to impress.

I repented, hearing the sermon of the slime and dandelions. They seem to preach much better than I do.

Father, teach me to reach, grow and strain in this life simply at your command. May that be enough. Amen.

“The earth is the LORD’s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein,  for he has founded it upon the seas and established it upon the rivers.” Psalms 24:1-2

(To hear sermons from Pastor Tim, please go to http://sermon.net/desdemonatx).

2 thoughts on “Do you hear the sermon of the slime and weeds? (short devotional thought)

Leave a Reply

