One-armed soldier….


Today, I posted Isaiah 41:13 “For I, the LORD your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, ‘Fear not, I am the one who helps you.'” (ESV).

As I was getting ready for my day, I was thinking about the verse. My first image was, of course, of a little boy holding his daddy’s hand. Yet another image came to mind; that of a soldier entering the battle.

The almost absurd image of a soldier holding another’s hand while battling seemed out of the question. But in reality, that is what God is saying. Put verse 12 with verse 13 and you see the picture.

“You shall seek those who contend with you, but you shall not find them; those who war against you shall be as nothing at all. For I, the LORD your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, ‘Fear not, I am the one who helps you.'”

Not too long ago, a church member came to me and said, “Bro. Tim, don’t fight, just stand. God has called you to just stand.”

Now I understand what she was saying. I don’t have to worry about the enemy as long as I stand by my Captain and hold His hand. Praise His wonderful name!

Leave a Reply

